Alex Moore and former Vanier College Sport-Études students Brooke Brimo and Ariane Capogreco win Hydro-Québec scholarships

alex-moore-2016-hydro-quebecPress release


In collaboration with the Fondation de l’athlète d’excellence du Québec,

Hydro-Québec Awards $88,000 in Scholarships to 30 Student-Athletes

Montréal, September 21, 2016Hydro-Québec and the Fondation de l’athlète d’excellence du Québec (Québec foundation for athletic excellence, or FAEQ) have announced the names of the 30 student-athletes who will receive a total of $88,000 in individual scholarships of $2,000 or $4,000 in this 19th year of the Hydro-Québec Scholarship Program with the FAEQ.

Two types of scholarships were awarded this year: 11 Academic Excellence scholarships to recognize outstanding academic achievements and 19 Academic and Athletic Support scholarships to encourage a healthy sport/study balance.

No fewer than 18 former Hydro-Québec Scholarship Program recipients made their marks at the Rio Olympic and Paralympic Games, including tennis player Eugénie Bouchard; divers Jennifer Abel, Meaghan Benfeito and Roseline Filion; swimmer Katerine Savard; judoka Antoine Valois-Fortier; wrestler Dorothy Yeats; and wheelchair basketball player Jonathan Vermette.

“The Hydro-Québec Scholarship Program, established in 1997, rewards student-athletes identified as Hopefuls or Elite in order to support emerging talents well before they are known and renowned,” said FAEQ president Claude Chagnon. “For over 25 years, Hydro-Québec and the FAEQ have been united for the academic, athletic and professional success of our scholarship recipients.”

Eligibility Criteria

Student-athletes must have post career plans, which often include a secondary, college or university education. Besides being selected as Hopeful or Elite athletes by their sports federations, student-athletes must meet the eligibility criteria to represent Canada at the Olympic Games, Paralympic Games or World Championships for their sport. The Hydro-Québec scholarships are awarded to at least one student-athlete from each of the regions where the company operates.

 2016 Hydro-Québec Scholarship Program Recipients – click to see full size






Ariane Capogreco is receiving her bursary from the hands of Carolyne Hudson, Advisor – Donations and Sponsorships for Hydro-Québec


Brooke Brimo is receiving her bursary from the hands of Carolyne Hudson, Advisor – Donations and Sponsorships for Hydro-Québec




About the Fondation de l’athlète d’excellence du Québec: UNITED FOR SUCCESS


The foundation stands out for its customized approach, its careful management and its influential role in sports and education. Its new five-year plan, for 2015 to 2020, focuses on the foundation’s main objectives: to increase by 35% the annual amount awarded in scholarships, and to increase the number of annual recipients. This year, a total of 1.2 million dollars will be awarded to more than 425 students and student-athletes. The foundation’s scholarships reward academic excellence, encourage balancing high-level sports and study, highlight leadership skills and honor perseverance. FAEQ is inspired by a genuine desire to unite with its partners and former recipients for the success of its recipients, and to make a difference in their academic, athletic and/or personal journeys. Visit the foundation’s Web site at and like the foundation’s Facebook page: FAEQ – Fondation de l’athlète d’excellence du Québec.












Website Feedback