Vanier College is proud to announce that Track and Field student athlete Tatiana Aholou recently received a $4,000 Academic Excellence bursary from the National Bank-Foundation for Athletic Excellence (FAEQ). The National Bank Bursary Program provides financial support to the top student-athletes in the Hopeful, Elite and Excellence categories. Through individual bursaries ranging from $2,000 to $4,000, the program rewards academic excellence, encourages a healthy balance between sport and study, and acknowledges the perseverance of student-athletes between the ages of 12 and 25.

Tatiana is truly making her mark in track and field. She won a Silver Medal in the long jump at the Commonwealth Youth Games. She is also the current Canadian Junior Champion in the long jump. She has broken the Quebec youth record with a 6.25-metre jump. She also broke the Quebec Youth and junior indoor record with 6.13 metres. Tatiana is currently in the Social Science Program at Vanier and in spite of a heavy training schedule manages to maintain an 88% academic average. She would like to eventually study Law or Psychology.

Capable of accurately visualizing and assimilating her technical moves, Tatiana can rapidly make necessary corrections. She is working on reducing her blocking on the off board long jump.  She hopes to represent Canada at the Junior World Championships next summer and at the Tokyo Olympics in 2020.

Tatiana received her bursary at a reception that took place on March 28th. In all, 39 student-athletes received a total of $130,000 in individual bursaries in recognition of their academic excellence and their athletic achievements. This year, 17 Academic Excellence bursaries were awarded to recognize impressive scholastic achievements, 21 Academic and Athletic Support bursaries promoted a healthy balance between sport and study, and one Perseverance bursary acknowledged an athlete’s singular determination in the face of hardship.

Congratulations to Tatiana Aholou!

Tatiana Aholou bursary winner 2018 Final ENG.

Tatiana Aholou bursary winner 2018 Final FR.


Website Feedback