Vanier College is pleased to announce that Environmental and Wildlife Management students Siena Daudelin and Noah Korne at the winners of the 2015 Horizon Multiressource and Terra-Bois awards. These awards are sponsored by the environmental consulting firm Horizon Multiressource in collaboration with Terra-Bois, a Lachute-based private woodlot owners’ cooperative. Both organizations are involved in the sustainable development of forests in the lower Laurentians.

“The objective of these awards, administered by the Vanier College Foundation, is to encourage students to enter the Environmental and Wildlife Management program, to complete their studies, and to develop aptitudes and attitudes in line with sustainable development,” said Quentin van Ginhoven, a teacher in the program.

The awards are given to 3rd year Environmental and Wildlife Management program student candidates who show strengths in both academics and community involvement. The awards also seek to foster a relationship between the students and the Argenteuil community, to highlight the synergy between Vanier College and local organizations working in forest management and sustainable development in Argenteuil, as well as to promote student involvement in the Williams Creek Watershed Management Program in Gore and Lachute.

The awards were presented by Brian Scully, teacher and Field Station Coordinator in the Vanier College Environmental and Wildlife Management program, and Quentin van Ginhoven, teacher in the program, at a ceremony held at Vanier College in December. Siena Daudelin won the first prize of $1,000 and Noah Korne won the second prize of $500.

“I’d like to congratulate all the students who applied for the Horizon multiressource /Coopérative Terra-bois awards,” said Mr. Andé Goulet Director General of Horizon multiressource. “In particular I’d like to congratulate Siena and Noah the 2015 recipients. I’d like to underline both their social involvement and their academic excellence, and wish them all the best in the pursuit of their studies!”

Congratulations to both these deserving students.

EWM-news release-re-scholarship-winners-2015


Website Feedback