821 Sainte-Croix, Montréal, Québec Canada H4L 3X9 | Tel: 514.744.7500 | Toll-Free: 1.855.744.7500 | Fax: 514.744.7505
Biology

Our Teachers & Staff

Coordinator

Edward Awad

edward
Location: A432
Tel. 514-744-7500 local 7345
Email: awade@vaniercollege.qc.ca
 Dr. Edward Awad has been teaching biology at Vanier College since 2004. His teaching philosophy centers on engaging students in thinking and behaving like scientists. He has been involving Honours Science students in real-life research in molecular phylogenetics and published with his students several gene sequences in GenBank. He is the recipient of the 2015 Silver Award for Teaching Excellence from Colleges and Institutes Canada, the 2013 SALTISE Best Practice Award, and of the 2010 Vanier College Department Coordinator of the Year Award.

Our Teachers

Neerusha Baurhoo

Location: On Leave
Tel. 514-744-7500 local 7759
Email: baurhoon@vaniercollege.qc.ca

Fallah Hassan Chit

Location: N442
Tel. 514-744-7500 local 7344
Email: chitf@vaniercollege.qc.ca

Stephanie Felkai

Location: A434
Tel. 514-744-7500 local 7727
Email: felkais@vaniercollege.qc.ca

Keith Fern

Location: A424
Tel. 514-744-7500 local 7654
Email: fernk@vaniercollege.qc.ca

Chris Gregg

Location: A432
Tel. 514-744-7500 local 7346
Email: greggc@vaniercollege.qc.ca
I received my doctorate degree from Concordia University studying mechanisms of aging in yeast cells. We proposed metabolic changes that take place in calorie restricted cells that could be correlated to an extension of lifespan. Following that I worked on project to genetically modify yeast cells to produce useful compounds called Benzylisoquinoline Alkaloids (BIAs), which include medically useful compounds such as morphine. Aside from teaching I am also very interested in finding ways for students to participate in exciting research projects. I am currently coordinator for the Research Methods course being offered at Vanier in which students conduct research under the mentorship of a university professor. I believe that research is an important part of science education and I hope to see more of it taking place here at Vanier College in the near future.

Estelle Lamothe

Location: A434
Tel. 514-744-7500 local 7136
Email: lamothee@vaniercollege.qc.ca

Karl Laroche

Science Program Coordinator
Location: A430
Tel. 514-744-7500 local 7865
Email: larochek@vaniercollege.qc.ca
My Science background is in behavioural ecology. Specifically, I spent several years studying the predator-prey interactions between great white sharks and Cape fur seals at Seal Island, False Bay, in South Africa. This was simultaneously thrilling and infuriating work, as I got to witness incredible natural spectacles almost every day while in the field, but also had to navigate the numerous challenges associated with studying large elusive animals in an inhospitable environment. Despite my passion for this field of research, I decided to move back to Montreal to be near family, and started at Vanier in 2007. Since that time I have completed an M.Ed. examining the benefits of using videos as pre-class material for my Biology courses, and have been involved with numerous projects aiming to improve student success. My current focus is on working with colleagues to evaluate the Science program at Vanier, with the ultimate goal of developing the most pedagogically innovative and inspiring Science program in Quebec.

Lissiene Neiva

Location: A424
Tel. 514-744-7500 local 7102
Email: neival@vaniercollege.qc.ca

Fred Nestel

Location: A428
Tel. 514-744-7500 local 7656
Email: nestelf@vaniercollege.qc.ca

Maria Panzuto

Location: A422
Tel. 514-744-7500 local 7343
Email: panzutom@vaniercollege.qc.ca

Heather Roffey

Location: On Leave
Tel. 514-744-7500 local
Email: roffeyh@vaniercollege.qc.ca

Terry Saropoulos

Location: A430
Tel. 514-744-7500 local 7661
Email: saropout@vaniercollege.qc.ca

Claire Sergeant

Location: A426
Tel. 514-744-7500 local 8219
Email: sergeanc@vaniercollege.qc.ca

Our Staff

David Piercey

Location: A451
Tel. 514-744-7500 local 7357
Email: pierceyd@vaniercollege.qc.ca

Lisa Sparkes

Location: A407A
Tel. 514-744-7500 local 7651
Email: sparkesl@vaniercollege.qc.ca