On Monday October 16 2006, Matthieu Sossoyans Archeology class visited the Musée Communautaire des Soeurs de Sainte-Croix, located in the rotunda of the Pavillon St-Joseph. The visit lasted over one hour and was quite memorable. This was the first time Vanier students visited the Sisters of Sainte-Croix, the founders of the schools that would eventually become Vanier College in 1970.
their visit, the students were asked to proceed with a treasure
hunt inviting them to explore all aspects of the museum, big and small.
The students were impressed with the museum and the friendliness of the
Sisters. At the same time, the Sisters came away with very favorable opinion
and impression of Vanier students. The Musée Communautaire des
Soeurs de Sainte-Croix is open to all individuals or groups. Entrance
is free. For more information, please contact Sisters Thérèse
Roy or Hermine Laurin at (514) 747-6132, local 404. We invite you to view
a selection of photos taken during the visit.
The Sainte-Croix congregation was founded in 1837 by Basile Moreau, in Le Mans (France). In 1841, a small group of Brothers of Sainte-Croix create the famous Notre-Dame University in Indiana. Also in 1841, Basile Moreau adds a group of Sisters to his Congregation. In 1847, a small group of these Sisters (Soeurs Marianites) are sent to Canada to create an educational institution for girls in the small village of Saint-Laurent. This small school would eventually evolve into two large institutions: Pensionnat Notre-Dame-des-Anges and Collège Basile-Moreau. In 1968, both of these schools are closed, and replaced by Vanier College. Since its foundation in 1837, the Sainte-Croix Congregation has been involved in educational and mission work all around the world.