Athletic Award Ceremony

On Friday April 28, 2017 we held our 3rd annual Athletic Ceremony.  It was a great night!!

 We would like to say a special Thank you to Donny Insogna for hosting our Banquet!  He is truly the voice of the Cheetahs, and we are so happy your back !!

Our First award of the night was the Academic Achievement award, given out to the students who had an average higher than 80 % during the Fall semester while competing for the college.  Congratulations to all our winners


Presenting the awards to our Wrestlers, were two alumni and physical Education teachers, Martine Dugrenier and David Zilberman

Bronze Medallist at the Senior Nationals  and winner of Female Most Improves Wrestler; Alexandra Campbell

Silver medallist at the Canadian Senior National Championships and Bronze at the Junior Level, and winner of Female Most Valuable Wrestler; Laurence Beauregard

Bronze Medallist at the Junior Nationals and Winner of Most improved wrestler Dylan McLean

Gold Medallist at the Jr Nationals and Silver at the Senior Nationals, and winner of the Most Valuable Wrestler Alex Moore

Women’s Rugby

These awards were presented by Head Coach Ron Chiasson

Most Consistent award winner Brianna Martorana

Most Improved Player; Lara De Santis

Most Valuable Player Sarah Kalaydjian

Men’s Rugby 

Presented by Head Coach Ron Chiasson

Most Improved Players and RSEQ league All star Nicolas Sforaza

Winners who were not present; Most consistent Player; Antoine Rousseau and Most Valuable Player; Hasani Worrell

Women’s Soccer

Presented by Head Coach Billy Glemaud

Most Improved player; Valerie Lando

Most Valuable player; Reyhana Jean Baptiste

Flag Football

Presented by Head Coach Tara Mrakic

Most Improved player; Thalia Abellard

Most Valuable Player; Anisha Joshi


Our Coaches were away competing at the World Championship and therefore the award was presented by Helena Bastos

Most Improved Performers, winners were Haralampos Tirovolas, Nicole Alves and missing Arden Freedman

Best Performers winners were; Shana Hadian and Tara Langri

Men’s Division 2 Basketball 

Presented by Head Coach Rowan Barnes

Most Improved player winner; Charles-Antoine Dorval

Most Valuable player Winners Emmanuel Gaisie Gwira and Kevin Zolnowski

Men’s Soccer Division 1 

Most Improved Improved player winner; Nicolas Estevez-Perez

Most Valuable Player winner; Simon Malaborsa

Women’s Basketball Division 1

Presented by Assistant Coach Tina Fasone

Our women’s basketball coaching staff all recently stepped down. Assistant coach Tina Fasone has been coaching at Vanier for 25 years. Head coach Ruby Viray and assistant Mai-Anh Nguyen have been coaching together at Vanier for 11 years. They won a CCAA national championship in 2007 and Provincial championships in 2007 and 2008. Our thanks go out to all 3 for their hard work and dedication and we wish them all the best in their future endeavours. A new coaching staff is expected to be in place shortly.

Presented by Vanier Alum, Kim Weir and Cape Breton Alum Natasha Eadie.

Winner of the Debbie Ruiz Scholarship funded by the Eva Gsum Foundation was presented to Miki Basambombo

Most Improved player winner Jessica Muha

Most Valuable player winners; Claria Twizere and Miki Basambombo

Men’s Basketball Division 1 

Presented by Head Coach Andrew Hertzog

Winner of the Eva Gsum Award; funded by the Eva Gsum Foundation, Jahfari Coulombe

Most Improved player; Steeve Joseph

Most Valuable player and winner of an RSEQ 1st team award; Ibrahim Ngom

Men’s Football Division 1

Presented by Head Coach Peter Chryssomalis

A Big Thank you went out to Football Equipment Manager Tom Mouhteros.  Thank you for your great years here at Vanier! You will be missed

Football Alumni Award winner Anthony Ragusa

Football Rookie of the year was presented to Xavier Ouellet

 Football Offensive Lineman winner Jad Najm

Offensive Player of the year presented to Dimitri Sinodinos

Defensive Player of the year and RSEQ Defensive player of the year Kean Harelimana

Lloyd Elder Scholarship

Presented by Physical Education Coordinator Peter Woodward.  This award is presented to Vanier Students who have demonstrated personal excellence and commitment in both sports and Mathematics.

This year’s Winners are Dimitri Sinodinos and Jessica Muha

Coach of the Year

Coach of the Year Winner was presented to Andrew Hertzog

Cheetah Leadership Award 

Presented by Coordinator of Admissions Johanna Consentino.

This award was presented to Redha Kramdi and was funded by Vanier Alumni Nick Katerinakis

Bill MacArthur Scholarship 

Presented by Helena Bastos

Award was presented to Benji Bercovitch and funded by the Eva Gsum Foundation

Female Athletes of the Year 

Presented by Student Life Coordinator Mireille Beland

Female Athletes of the year was presented to our Women’s golfing Team, Rose Morissette and missing on the picture Isabella Petosa. This award was funded by the Vanier College Foundation

Male Athlete of the Year

Presented by Director of Finance Lise Begin

Male Athlete of the year was presented to Kean Harelimana, and this award was funded by the Vanier College Foundation.

Congratulations to all the Winners !!! 

Website Feedback